Questions about dealing with the corona virus

What happens in the residence halls if a student is infected?
In this case we act in accordance with the specifications of the responsible health authority. This applies in principle to all infectious diseases that may occur in the residential complexes. All valid regulations can be found here. Please check back often, as the measures are adjusted and updated from time to time.
Are there any changes to the cleaning intervals in the residential complexes?
The cleaning intervals in the student residences remain the same as before. According to the Robert Koch Institute (RKI) and the Federal Institute for Risk Assessment (BfR), the coronavirus is mainly transmitted by droplet infection. In this process, viruses are released into the air via droplets and then inhaled. A smear infection may also be possible. In this case, pathogens that are on the hands reach the mucous membranes of the nose or eyes, where they can lead to infection. Good hand hygiene is therefore very important in order to protect against infectious diseases. Transmission via inanimate surfaces has not yet been proven, so an infection seems unlikely according to the BfR. Please also make sure that you maintain very good hygiene in your apartment yourself. Disinfecting door handles and other frequently touched surfaces can already minimize the risk considerably. Especially often one touches the keyboard and the computer mouse...
Do the residents have to pay explicit attention to something when dealing with the coronavirus?
In all student residences we provide information on the most important hygiene tips of the Federal Centre for Health Education (BZgA) by means of posters in two languages. We have also ordered brochures from the BZgA, which are displayed in the caretaker offices. As with all infectious diseases, the following rules of conduct apply to prevent infection:
  • Wash your hands regularly and sufficiently long (at least 20 seconds) with soap and water
  • Keep your hands out of your face
  • Sneeze or cough in the crook of your arm or in a handkerchief
  • Hold distance to sick persons (approx. 2 meters)
Is there a central registration office?
If you suspect that you are infected with corona virus because of symptoms, contact your doctor directly by telephone or call the emergency medical services on 116117.
People who have had contact with a person with confirmed COVID-19 disease should contact their local health authority directly. This must be done in any case - regardless of the occurrence of symptoms. You can find out the responsible public health department here by postcode .

Answers to the most commonly asked questions about living and how to apply for a place...

... are given below. If you are unable to find the answers you need, then feel free to drop us a line at wohnen@stw-vp.de.

What are my chances of receiving a place in a dormitory?
The chances of acquiring a place in a student residence vary depending on the cities (Landau, Germersheim, Worms and Ludwigshafen) and on the personal circumstances of each particular applicant. Until such time that we are able to build more dormitories, we will continue to receive many more applicants than the free places we have available to us. It is therefore currently not possible to determine your chance. New applications are received every day and the number of free places in dormitories also changes on an almost daily basis.

In the guidelines you will find a list of all circumstances that would be deemed to improve the chances of an application being successful. Examples of this are those applicants with a disability, who have children, students from overseas, those that are located furthest from their chosen place of study, or BAföG recipients.
I have received a room in a shared flat, but I would like a single apartment. Can something be done about this?
Since the demand for a place in our dormitory is very high, we are unfortunately not always able to meet all requests.
However, you are more than welcome to send us an e-mail at wohnen@stw-vp.de. If we are able to accommodate a change, then we will and will notify you accordingly, but we cannot promise that this will be the case.
I have received a place in a dormitory. What do I have to do next?
We respectfully request that you reply as soon as possible to the e-mail that you accept or decline the place. If you choose to accept the place, the rental contract will be forwarded to you by e-mail (Note, this can take up to 2-3 days). Please read the accompanying letter in the mail to the rental agreement carefully and in full. It is required that you return 2 copies of the rental contract, along with attachments 1-3. You will also need to send us the confirmation and the receipt for the payment of the deposit. What we do not require, is a printed copy of the general rental conditions.
The application deadline has expired. Can I still apply?
Of course. However, please note that we will first and foremost consider all applicants who have applied on time.
I applied prior to receiving my admission certificate from the university. What should I do when I receive it?
You do not have to submit the admission certificate prior to being considered for a place. If we are able to offer you a place in the dormitory, we will automatically ask for it. At latest you will need to present your certificate of enrolment, when you move into your dormitory. This would be applicable if you receive your admission very late.
What facilities does my room/apartment have?
The majority of our dormitory places are rented furnished. This includes: Cupboard, bed incl. mattress and protector, desk & chair, pantry kitchen, depending on the dormitory either wall hung shelving or a standing. Further information is available on our info sheets at the bottom of each dormitory page.
If my application is refused, when will I be notified?
Refusals will be sent out by e-mail approx. 3-4 weeks after the start of the allocation process. Since this can be very short notice, we always recommend that you also look for a room on the private housing market. Unfortunately, we have many more applicants than free places. Helpful information regarding the private housing market can be found here.
Can I visit the dormitories prior applying?
Due to organizational reasons, it is not possible to visit our dormitories. In addition, the dormitories are rented out at all times. However, you are welcome to take a private look at them if the distance to your place of residence permits this.
I don't know yet if my application for the Bafög (student loans) will be accepted. Should I still tick the box and how do I complete my application?
The requested information on student loans (called BAföG in Germany) is not a mandatory field. Therefore, it can be left blank if necessary If you are sure that you will receive Bafög, you can calculate your anticipated amount of funding online using the Bafög calculator. You can upload this result to us at "Bafög-Bescheid". As soon as you have your Bafög-notice, simply scan a copy and send it to us at wohnen@stw-vp.de.
Can I apply more than once for the same semester?
Only one application per person per semester is allowed. There is no advantage to applying more than once. Multiple applications could lead to exclusion from the application process.
When is the application deadline for a place in a dormitory?
The application deadline for Landau and Germersheim is 01.03. or 01.09. each year, for Ludwigshafen and Worms it is 01.02. and 01.08.
When and in what format will I receive information, if I receive a place in a dormitory?
Rooms in the halls of residence will be allocated after the respective application deadline. If we are able to offer you a dormitory place, then we will send you an e-mail with an offer and a detailed description of which dormitory place it is. Please check your e-mails and the spam folder regularly. Confirmations are made in February and March for the Summer semester and in August and September for the Winter semester.
What is the method for cancelling my application?
You can withdraw your application at any time. Just send a short mail to wohnen@stw-vp.de. Please remember to withdraw your application as soon as possible, in order to make it easier for other applicants and our team.
Is it possible to apply without an admission/study certificate?
An application is always non-binding and therefore also possible without admission/degree of study certificate of the respective university/college. So even if you don't yet know whether you will really be accepted at the university, you can still already apply. You will not be charged if you have to cancel your application because you are going to another university.
What criteria are used to allocate places in a dormitory?
The Studentenwerk has a statutory mandate to allocate places in dormitories according to social criteria, and we have clear allocation guidelines that we must follow.
Here you can find a set of our guidelines and see how likely your particular application is of being successful.
What is the minimum time period that I need to stay for?
If you have signed a rental agreement with us, the minimum rental period is one semester (6 months).
What is the cancellation period?
The cancellation period is minimum 3 months prior to the end of the semester.
Is it possible to cancel my tenancy agreement during a semester?
Only in the case of ‘exmatriculation’ is termination possible, at the next available point in time, provided we have a new tenant available to take your place. Otherwise, the contractual notice period will apply.
Am I allowed to live in any dormitory of the Studierendenwerk Vorderpfalz, if I study at a different location?
Unfortunately not. You can only apply for the location where you want to study. It is therefore not possible, for example, to get a place in a hall of residence in Germersheim if you want to study in Worms.
Are the dormitory places also for students of other universities or for interns or pupils?
Our dormitory places are only available to students of the respective universities/academies in Landau, Germersheim, Worms and Ludwigshafen. On our homepage you can find useful tips on how to search the private housing market.
How can I change my application details?
Please send us an e-mail to wohnen@stw-vp.de clearly stating which data is incorrect. Please also include your full name. A second application is not necessary.
How do I apply for a place in a hall of residence?
You can only apply for a place in a dormitory online via our homepage. Click here to go to the digital application portal.
What costs will I incur?
Both registration and withdrawal of your application are free of charge. Simply sending an email to wohnen@stw-vp.de will be sufficient.
You will only incur costs if you have already signed a rental agreement.

Fragen zum Umgang mit dem Corona-Virus

Was passiert in den Wohnanlagen, wenn ein/e Student*in infiziert ist?
In diesem Fall handeln wir nach den Vorgaben des zuständigen Gesundheitsamts. Dies gilt grundsätzlich bei allen Infektionskrankheiten, die in den Wohnanlagen auftreten können. Alle gültigen Regelungen findet ihr hier. Bitte schaut öfter rein, da die Maßnahmen immer mal wieder angepasst und aktualisiert werden.
Gibt es Änderungen der Putzintervalle in den Wohnanlagen?
Die Putzintervalle in den studentischen Wohnanlagen bleiben gleich hoch wie zuvor. Laut Robert-Koch-Institut (RKI) und dem Bundesinstitut für Risikobewertung (BfR) überträgt sich das Coronavirus vor allem mittels Tröpfcheninfektion. Dabei werden Viren über Tröpfchen in die Luft abgegeben und anschließend eingeatmet. Eine Schmierinfektion kann ebenfalls möglich sein. Hierbei gelangen Erreger, die sich auf den Händen befinden, an die Schleimhäute der Nase oder der Augen, wo sie zu einer Infektion führen können. Eine gute Händehygiene ist daher sehr wichtig, um sich vor Infektionskrankheiten zu schützen. Die Übertragung über unbelebte Oberflächen ist bisher nicht nachgewiesen, eine Infektion erscheint daher laut BfR unwahrscheinlich. Bitte achtet auch selbst auf eine sehr gute Hygiene in eurem Apartment. Das Desinfizieren von Türgriffen und anderen häufig angefassten Oberflächen kann das Risiko schon deutlich minimieren. Besonders oft fasst man ja die Tastatur und die Computermaus an...
Müssen die Bewohner*innen etwas explizit im Umgang mit dem Coronavirus beachten?
In allen studentischen Wohnanlagen informieren wir mittels Plakaten in zwei Sprachen über die wichtigsten Hygienetipps der Bundeszentrale für gesundheitliche Aufklärung (BZgA). Zudem haben wir bei der BZgA Broschüren bestellt, die in den Hausmeisterbüros ausgelegt werden. Wie bei allen Infektionskrankheiten gelten folgende Verhaltensregeln, um einer Infektion vorzubeugen:
  • Wasche regelmäßig und ausreichend lange (mindestens 20 Sekunden) deine Hände mit Wasser und Seife
  • Halte deine Hände aus dem Gesicht fern
  • Niesen oder huste in die Armbeuge oder in ein Taschentuch
  • Halte Abstand zu kranken Personen (ca. 2 Meter)
Gibt es eine zentrale Meldestelle?
Besteht Verdacht auf eine Infektion mit dem Coronavirus, da Symptome auftreten, setze dich direkt telefonisch mit deinem Arzt / deine Ärztin in Verbindung oder nimm Kontakt mit dem kassenärztlichen Notdienst unter der Telefonnummer 116117 auf.
Personen, die Kontakt zu einer bestätigt an COVID-19 erkrankten Person hatten, kontaktieren direkt das örtlich zuständige Gesundheitsamt. Dies muss in jedem Fall erfolgen – unabhängig vom Auftreten von Symptomen. Das zuständige Gesundheitsamt kannst du hier nach Postleitzahl ermitteln.

Fragen zum Thema Wohnen und Bewerbung um einen Platz...

... werden hier alle beantwortet. Wenn dir dennoch etwas fehlt, schreib uns einfach eine Mail an wohnen@stw-vp.de.

Wie stehen meine Chancen auf einen Wohnheimplatz?
Die Chancen auf einen Wohnheimplatz sind in den Städten Landau, Germersheim, Worms und Ludwigshafen unterschiedlich. Fakt ist: Wir haben viel mehr Bewerber*innen als freie Plätze. Mittelfristig kann das nur durch den Bau neuer Wohnheime verbessert werden. Deine Chance zu bestimmen ist daher aktuell nicht möglich. Es gehen täglich neue Bewerbungen ein und auch an der Anzahl der freien Wohnheimplätze ändert sich beinahe täglich etwas. In den Vergaberichtlinien findest du eine Liste aller Lebensumstände, die eine Bewerbung aussichtsreicher machen wie z.B: eine Behinderung, das Studium mit Kind, Studierende aus dem Ausland oder mit weiter Entfernung zum Studienort, Bafög-Empfänger.
Ich habe einen WG Platz erhalten, möchte aber ein Einzelapartment. Kann ich den Wohnheimplatz tauschen?
Da die Nachfrage unserer Wohnheimplätze sehr hoch ist, können wir leider nicht immer allen Wünschen gerecht werden. Das tut uns sehr leid. Gerne kannst du uns aber eine E-Mail an wohnen@stw-vp.de senden. Dann schauen wir, ob wir den Platz tauschen können. Versprechen können wie hier aber nichts.
Ich habe einen Wohnheimplatz erhalten. Was muss ich nun tun?
Antworte so schnell wie möglich auf die E-Mail, dass du den Platz annimmst oder ablehnst. Wenn du den Platz annimmst, wird der Mietvertrag per E-Mail an dich versendet (Achtung! Dies kann unter Umständen 2-3 Tage dauern). Bitte lies das Begleitschreiben in der Mail zum Mietvertrag aufmerksam und komplett durch. Wir benötigen den Mietvertrag doppelt und die Anlagen 1-3 einfach zurück. Zudem muss die Wohnungsgeberbestätigung (ausdrucken und beilegen) mitgesendet werden und der Beleg über die Zahlung der Reservierungsbestätigung (Kaution). Die allgemeine Mietbedingung benötigen wir nicht ausgedruckt.
Die Bewerbungsfrist ist abgelaufen. Kann ich mich trotzdem noch bewerben?
Selbstverständlich kannst du dich noch bewerben. Allerdings berücksichtigen wir zunächst erst alle Bewerber*innen, die sich fristgerecht beworben haben.
Ich habe mich ohne Zulassung der Hochschule/Uni beworben. Muss ich diese nach Erhalt nachreichen?
Du musst die Zulassungsbescheinigung zunächst nicht nachreichen. Sollten wir dir einen Platz im Wohnheim anbieten können, fragen wir automatisch danach. Beim Einzug ins Wohnheim musst du die Immatrikulationsbescheinigung dann spätestens vorlegen, falls du deine Zulassung erst sehr spät bekommst.
Welche Ausstattung hat mein Zimmer/Apartment?
Der Großteil unserer Wohnheimplätze wird möbliert vermietet. Darin beinhaltet sind: Schrank, Bett inkl. Matratze und Schoner, Schreibtisch, Pantryküche, Schreibtischstuhl, je nach Wohnheim entweder Regalböden an der Wand oder ein Standregal. Weitere Infos findest du auch auf der Unterseite des jeweiligen Wohnheims.
Wann bekomme ich spätestens eine Absage, falls es mit dem Zimmer nicht klappt?
Die Absagen werden ca. 3-4 Wochen nach dem Beginn der Vergabe per E-Mail versendet. Da dies sehr kurzfristig ist, empfehlen wir stets, sich auch auf dem privaten Wohnungsmarkt nach einem Zimmer umzusehen. Leider haben wir viel mehr Bewerber*innen als freie Plätze. Hilfreiche Informationen zum privaten Wohnungsmarkt findet ihr hier.
Kann ich die Zimmer vor meiner Bewerbung besichtigen?
Eine Besichtigung unsere Wohnheimplätze ist aus organisatorischen Gründen nicht möglich. Die Wohnheimplätze sind darüber hinaus zu jeder Zeit vermietet. Gerne kannst du dir aber privat ein Bild vor Ort machen, falls es die Entfernung zu deinem Wohnort zulässt.
Ich weiß noch nicht, ob ich Bafög bekomme. Muss ich das Feld dann trotzdem ankreuzen und wie muss ich meinen Antrag dann vervollständigen?
Die Angabe über Bafög ist kein Pflichtfeld. Daher muss nichts angegeben werden. Solltest du sicher sein, dass du Bafög bekommst, kannst du vorher schon online über den Bafög-Rechner (https://www.bafoeg-rechner.de/) die etwaige Höhe der Förderung ausrechnen. Dieses Ergebnis kannst du uns an der Stelle „Bafög-Bescheid“ hochladen. Sobald du deinen Bafög-Bescheid dann hast, sende ihn uns als Scan einfach an wohnen@stw-vp.de.
Kann ich mich auch mehrfach für ein Semester bewerben?
Eine Bewerbung ist nur einmalig pro Semester möglich. Es verschafft dir keinen Vorteil, dich mehrfach zu bewerben, sondern uns nur mehr Arbeit. Mehrfachbewerbungen können zum Ausschluß vom Vergabeverfahren führen.
Wann ist die Bewerbungsfrist für einen Wohnheimplatz zu Ende?
Die Bewerbungsfrist für Landau und Germersheim ist der 01.03. bzw. 01.09. eines Jahres, für Ludwigshafen und Worms der 01.02. und 01.08..
Wann und wie bekomme ich Rückmeldung, ob ich einen Wohnheimplatz bekommen habe?
Die Vergabe der freien Wohnheimplätze erfolgt nach der jeweiligen Bewerbungsfrist. Wenn wir dir einen Wohnheimplatz anbieten können, versenden wir eine E-Mail mit einem Angebot und detaillierter Beschreibung um welchen Wohnheimplatz es sich handelt. Bitte kontrolliere regelmäßig deine E-Mails und auch den Spam-Ordner. Zusagen erfolgen in aller Regel im Februar und März für das Sommersemester und im August und September für das Wintersemester.
Wie ziehe ich meine Bewerbung zurück?
Du kannst deine Bewerbung jederzeit zurückziehen. Sende hierzu einfach eine kurze Mail an wohnen@stw-vp.de. Bitte denke daran, eure Bewerbung so schnell wie möglich zurückzuziehen, du machst es damit uns und den Nachrückern auf euren Platz leichter.
Ist es möglich, sich auch ohne Zulassung/Studienbescheinigung zu bewerben?
Eine Bewerbung ist stets unverbindlich und somit auch ohne Zulassung/Studienbescheinigung der jeweiligen Universität/Hochschule möglich. Also selbst, wenn du noch nicht weißt, ob du wirklich an der Hochschule aufgenommen wirst, kannst du dich bereits bewerben. Dir entstehen keine Kosten, wenn du die Bewerbung absagen musst, weil du an eine andere Hochschule gehst.
Nach welchen Kriterien werden die Plätze im Wohnheim vergeben?
Das das Studierendenwerk einen satzungsgemäßen Auftrag zur Vergabe von Wohnheimplätzen nach sozialen Kriterien hat, existieren bei uns klare Vergaberichtlinien. Wir treffen unter allen Bewerber*innen eine Sozialauswahl und vergeben unser Plätze nach sozialen Richtlinien. Hier findest du unsere Vergaberichtlinien und kannst dich vergewissern, ob deine Bewerbung Aussicht auf Erfolg hat.
Wie lang muss ich mindestens wohnen bleiben?
Wenn du einen Mietvertrag mit uns geschlossen hast, beträgt die Mindestmietdauer ein Semester (6 Monate).
Wie lautet die Kündigungsfrist?
Die Kündigungsfrist beträgt 3 Monate zum Semesterende.
Kann ich meinen Mietvertrag auch während des Semesters kündigen?
Nur bei einer Exmatrikulation ist eine Kündigung zum nächstmöglichen Zeitpunkt möglich, sofern wir einen Nachmieter zur Verfügung haben. Ansonsten gilt die vertragliche Kündigungsfrist.
Kann ich in jedem Wohnheim des Studierendenwerk Vorderpfalz wohnen, wenn ich an einem anderen Standort studiere?
Leider nicht. Du kannst dich nur für den Standort bewerben, bei dem du auch studieren möchtest. Es ist daher nicht möglich, zum Beispiel in Germersheim einen Wohnheimplatz zu bekommen, wenn du in Worms studieren möchtest.
Sind die Wohnheimplätze auch für Studierende anderer Universitäten/Hochschulen oder für Praktikant*innen bzw. Schüler*innen?
Unsere Wohnheimplätze stehen ausschließlich Studierenden der jeweiligen Universität/Hochschule in Landau, Germersheim, Worms und Ludwigshafen zur Verfügung. Auf unserer Homepage findest du Tipps zur Suche auf dem privaten Wohnungsmarkt.
Wie kann ich meine Angaben bei der Bewerbung ändern?
Sende uns hierzu bitte eine E-Mail an wohnen@stw-vp.de unter Angabe, welche Daten nicht korrekt sind. Füge bitte auch deinen vollständigen Namen in die E-Mail ein. Eine zweite Bewerbung ist nicht notwendig.
Wie bewerbe ich mich um einen Wohnheimplatz?
Eine Bewerbung um einen Wohnheimplatz ist ausschließlich online über unsere Homepage möglich. Hier kommst du zum digitalen Bewerbungsportal.
Welche Kosten entstehen mir?
Die Anmeldung erfolgt kostenlos. Auch die Rücknahme deiner Bewerbung - falls du etwas anderes gefunden hast in der Zwischenzeit - kostet nichts. Eine Mail an wohnen@stw-vp.de reicht aus. Dir entstehen erst Kosten, wenn du einen Mietvertrag unterschrieben hast.